why should we educate women?

1304545837-private-school-holds-rally-to-promote-education-for-women--hyderabad_6805201304545837-private-school-holds-rally-to-promote-education-for-women--hyderabad_680520

1991 marks the beginning of the Black Deceny in my country. Civil war, restriction of mobility, terrorism… Etc and for sure women were to  bear most of the great suffering of that period _and still_. Education was one of the sectors that declined because of the war. Girls were prevented from going to school. When some people were so afraid that their girls will be killed or kidnapped, thing that happened so often at that time; others  _mainly those who were supporting the Islamist regime_ didn’t allow their daughters to attend their classes claiming that learning is not for women and that it is dishonourable to let your daughter go outside.

I was enough lucky to be born to highly educated parents who knew very well how to take me out of that bloody cocoon. They were aware that only education is the key to protect me and make of me an effective citizen. Yet, my father insisted on teaching me more than what I took in school. Volunteering, traveling, learning about what my academic curriculum didn’t cover like women’s rights made of me the woman I am today. Now, I do realise how important it is to provide an inclusive education for girls and women for a stable and prosperous world.

  • A HEALTHIER FAMILY? THEN, EDUCATE WOMEN!

In Algeria _just like in the other MENA countries_, sex education is considered as a taboo. Hence, it is not taught in schools. Parents, decision makers and almost everyone in my community neglect the relevance of such kind of education to better girls’ understanding of their bodies and gender roles and know how to protect themselves. With such an education, we are preserving the human part of us, valuing life, setting about family and community values, building a safer world for girls and founding healthier families.

SO LET’S INCLUDE SEX EDUCATION IN OUR SCHOOLS AND TEACH WOMEN ABOUT THAT.

  • A STABLE FAMILY? EQUALITY? THEN, EDUCATE WOMEN!

In the Algerian family, women _especially mothers_ play a central role in protecting their families’ stability. Defining each member’s rights and duties, reconsidering women’s rights in the family and practicing them is a terrific way towards a stable family.

A women living in a patriarchal society is never aware of her rights and always afraid of raising her voice unless she is well_educated. Due to the wrong interpretations of religious texts, the patriarchal nature of our families, the harmful traditions and poverty, so many women didn’t get access to education. They had never been introduced to their rights. All what they received was the inherited fear and unconditional submission to the unfair family and social norms. A woman is never independent. She is always inferior comparing to man even if she is better. A son’s sin is a pride but daughter’s is a crime for which she deserves being barbarically killed. HIS success is a great achievement but HERS is never remarkable. 

The bright version of this terrifying image of the Algerian family also exists. A version where a mother is the pillar of the home, the effective agent and the first educator; a daughter is equally important as her brother and have the same opportunities. It only needs to educate women about their rights.

IT IS ALL ABOUT THE FAMILY’S STABILUITY WHICH IS FUNDAMENTALLY ABOUT EDUCATED WOMEN. SO LET’S EDUCATE THEM ABOUT THEIR RIGHTS FOR MORE STABLE FAMILIES.

An aducated woman means a peaceful world.

An educated woman means less poverty.

An educated woman means more production.

 

About ALGERIANeuse

I'm a new blogger, freedom traveler, human rights activist and women rights advocate. I'm a social entrepreneur and activist. I'm affiliated with so many associations, NGOs, foundations and movements ranging between women rights, education, peace ans security, global citizenship, entrepreneurship, religious dialogue....etc. I travel so often, like twice every month. I had been to Tunisia, Morocco, Egypt, UAE, USA, France, Spain, Jordan (this one became like a second home to me :D ) South Korea, Mali, Azerbaidjan...ETC. I will do more soon :D . Currently, I'm an LLM Human Rights Scholars at the University of Reading, UK. This blog will be my space where to share my thoughts, concerns and communicate them to YOU PEOPLE. I will be talking about everything.
This entry was posted in Algeria, arabs, black deceny, daughter, family, Gender equality, girls, Human rights, human rights education, life, muslim, parents, school, sex education, sister, support, terrorism, Travel, Uncategorized, women, Women rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment